top of page

Equine MSTR®

Before considering this class please be aware that you need to comply with the legislation governing the treatment of animals in your country or state.


You should have insurance to practice and be familiar with animal handling, behavior and warning signals.
This class is intended for professional animal healthcare practitioners only.

horse-4044547.jpg

One of the amazing things to emerge from teaching MSTR® work is the development and application for use on animals.        They need help with their scars too - and for the same reasons people do!

We have, as part of our international teaching team, an equine instructor with decades of experience.
She will guide you through the application of MSTR® treatment for horses.

Effects of scarring on horses...
  1. Pain and Discomfort: Scarring can cause discomfort, especially if it's extensive or near sensitive areas like joints or muscles.

  2. Limited Mobility: Severe scarring around joints or tendons can restrict a horse's range of motion, impacting its ability to move freely.

  3. Cosmetic Concerns: While horses might not be concerned about appearance, visible scars can affect their market value in some contexts, such as competitions or sales.

  4. Behavioral Changes: Horses might exhibit behavioral changes, becoming more cautious or reactive due to discomfort or memories of the traumatic event.

  5. Risk of Re-injury: Scar tissue is often less elastic and more prone to injury, increasing the risk of re-injury in the affected area.

  6. Skin Sensitivity and Irritation: Scarred areas may be more sensitive or prone to irritation, requiring careful management to prevent issues like rubbing or chafing.

  7. Potential Psychological Impact: While less studied than in dogs, horses might also experience psychological effects, such as anxiety or fear related to the trauma that caused the scarring.

Why learn?
Treatment of animals is completely different to the treatment of people. They have unique ways of communicating their discomfort and pain. They have different ways of reacting to treatment. They have different healing responses. Their time for wounds to heal is different to humans.

 

"Animal bodies are very different from human bodies and both the visual and hands-on assessment differs from humans."

As a practitioner you need to understand what you are seeing and feeling and it is imperative to correctly interpret the responses you are receiving in the best interest of the animals' well-being. It is really not as easy as transferring the human course skills to an animal.

 

Completion of your coursework leads to a Certificate of Proficiency in Equine MSTR®.

Please note: Certification in Equine MSTR® does NOT grant you license to set up as a equine therapist.*
To do that you will need (or should already have) qualifications in equine study - e.g. anatomy, physiology, pathology, animal behaviour, safe practice and so forth.

Your instructor has years of experience with horses, working very closely with veterinarians.

* Animal only practitioners are required to have relevant qualifications in equine work, have malpractice insurance and comply with their state or country laws of practice.

COURSE CONTENT INCLUDES:
 
  • Functions of the skin, formation of scar tissue, types of scars

  • Effects of scar tissue: fascia, lymph and blood flow, movement patterns, psychological and emotional effects

  • Indications and contraindications, working with non-organic implants etc.,

  • Client assessment

  • Features of MSTR® work:

    • Sequence,

    • Pressure,

    • Timing,

    • Working with underlying scar tissue

  • Client care, typical MSTR® treatment session, monitoring and post-treatment care, MSTR® additional applications

  • SMALL GROUP CLASS includes:

    • Six video presentations

    • Instruction manual

    • Live 2-HOUR video call with your instructor including demonstrations of the practical work

    • Q&A

    • Ongoing student support

COURSE FEES:​
  • EQUINE SMALL GROUP CLASS price:  USD $199
     

  • EQUINE CLASSES also include assessment of your coursework*, certification and inclusion on our Practitioner Location Map. The One-Time fee covers everything.
     

We want you to be as skilled as possible in this specialized area of treatment, which has been demonstrated to be amazingly effective for horses. We are confident you'll want to learn as much as you can about this efficient and versatile method of scar treatment

*Coursework for certification includes a 20 question written test (80% pass mark) and presentation of 5 case studies demonstrating competency.

MSTR® for Horses

for-horses-1024x683.jpg

Your instructor:

Lise Waugh

Lise and horse 1_edited.jpg

"

From the age of six, I've never not known horses. As a youth, I worked as a veterinary assistant throughout high school and found the need to perform an unassisted emergency cesarean on my mothers deceased mare when I was 16. Undergraduate studies took me to Stephens College in Columbia, Missouri specifically for the Equestrian Science program which led me to work with Arabian show horses in Arizona. My Morgan horses have traveled with me from Washington State to Missouri, Arizona, Idaho, California and back to Washington! MSTR® for horses is profound!

"

  • Equine Veterinary Assistant (10 years)

  • AA and BS Equestrian Science Stephens College, Columbia, MO

  • 4-H Youth competitor and later Judge

  • Qualified instructor: Saddle Seat Equitation, Western Seat Equitation, Hunt Seat Equitation

  • Experienced with Dressage, Western Cutting, Hunter/Jumper, Show and Pleasure horses Horse show mom

  • Developed and teach Equestrian Yoga

  • Thai Massage for Horses

  • Human and Equine Bowen practitioner
    Human and Equine MSTR® practitioner and instructor

  • Preferred style of riding: bareback - always bareback.

glossy-1293833_1280_edited_edited.png

March 9th

TIME ZONE 1

08:00 Seattle, WA

09:00 Phoenix AZ

11:00 New York / Florida
16:00 London, UK

17:00 Central European Time

APPROVED SCHOOL

brown-1293834_1280.png

March 9th

TIME ZONE 2

18:00 Seattle WA

19:00 Phoenix AZ

16:00 Honolulu, Hawaii

15:00 Wellington, NZ (Sunday 10th)

13:00 Sydney, Australia (Sunday 10th)

12:00 Brisbane, Australia (Sunday 10th)

10:00 Perth, Western Australia (Sunday 10th)

When registering, please tell us which Time Zone you're booking for...
Don't forget to double check the time of the meeting against your local time!
Sketch Arrow
  • After completing the registration form, you will be sent an invoice (by email) by your instructor, for the amount advertised. Payment is often requested via PayPal, but bank transfer may be arranged.

  • The course fee becomes due immediately upon receipt of the invoice. Please pay the invoice promptly to ensure your place on the course.

  • Before purchasing your course please read our Cancellation Policy and Ethical Agreement

bottom of page